Previously on Uberhamster:
Animated Oven Mit - 2004-06-11
U.S. Amateur Teams, Day Three - 2004-02-16
U.S. Amateur Teams, Day 2 - 2004-02-15
U.S. Amateur Teams, Day 1 - 2004-02-14
A tit bit nipply - 2004-01-16

Site designed by Sinnamon
04/13/02






This I Love Constable Whiskers site owned by Uberhamster.

[ Prev 5 ] [Prev ] [ Next ] [ Next 5 ] [ Random ] [ List ] [ RingSurf ]


This Diaryland Ring of Wackos site is owned by Uberhamster.
[ << 5 | << | >> | >> 5 | ? | List ]

2002-12-06 - 10:59 p.m.

Incident at Taco Bell

Life goes on...

One of the things that Lily wanted to do when she got back to the United States was to join me on my low-carb diet. We both have lost a significant amount of weight in the last three months, and Lily wants to keep up the momentum. She's been paging through my low-carb cookbook and experimenting with some of the recipes there. For example, she made a very tasty tomato soup for lunch today.

I'm ashamed to say it, but she seems a lot more motivated in this regard than I am. After struggling over two months on the low carb diet, coupled with how carefully I had to eat in China I found that I was rather unwilling to get back into harness again. I've been seriously jonesing for chocolate and other forbidden treats.

On the one hand, I understand why I'd feel that way, but on the other hand it's a dangerous and stupid way to act. Like I've said before, I can take a vacation from diabetes but it doesn't take a vacation from me.

Tonight Lily was a little tired of eating at home and facing a dinner of reheated leftovers it was easy to persuade her to go out to dinner. She wanted some Taco Bell, so that's where we went. Their food is low carb, so long as you order your burritos without beans and you don't eat the tortilla shell. Of course the hell of it is that from my point of view that's the best part!

We went to the nearest Taco Bell, and ordered our burritos. I had thought that I'd be at least able to eat SOME of the flour tortilla, but Lily was adamant.

"Can I eat just ONE?" I whined.

"No," she replied firmly.

"Just a little?" I wheedled, hoping my boyish charm would make her relent.

"No."

"But -"

"No."

"But -"

"No!"

"How about I do THIS," I said, quickly picking up my burrito and taking a big bite out of it.

Lily goggled unbelievingly at me as I smugly munched my food. Quick as a python, she snatched the rest of the burrito off the tray, quickly licked it up and down, then put it back in front of me.

Now it was my turn to goggle while she looked smug. I stared to say something about how that wasn't going to stop me from eating it since she and I swap spit so much, but I just started laughing. Then she joined in.

After the hilarity subsided, I realized that I'd been licked, literally. I only ate the innards of the rest of my burritos, throwing out the wraps.

One thing I'll say about Lily - she certainly knows how to get her point across.



3 comments so far